Ageing into Lesbian-Feminism – An Excerpt from a Life

An “old” (but not very!) feminist who calls herself “a crone” has some timeless reflections on what Feminism brought to her life and brings to the young women of today, whether they realize it or not! Love this: “Like all important tasks, dismembering patriarchy is the work of my many lifetimes.”

The Philosopher's Eye

ari headColor

It was 1969, I was just 12 years old, and Stonewall had not yet happened. My best friend Linda and I hung out at the local schoolyard wearing army jackets with male names emblazoned on the pocket. She was not just my friend, though I had no name for what we were.

When I smacked a boy upside the head who tried to grab my breasts, the home economics teacher said if I couldn’t stop acting like that no boy would ever marry me. I had no vision of what life could be without marrying a boy and gay marriage was still an oxymoron; I decided that marriage was a trap that I would never willingly step into. I mostly still think that.

I discovered feminism with an insatiable hunger. I read every book, bought every woman’s music album and joined consciousness raising groups, and coming out groups.

Today my…

View original post 514 more words

Leave a Reply

